Mark Millar intar regissörsstolen

Tidigare idag skrev jag om Warren Ellis och hans inblandning i filmvärlden. En serieskapare som inte är helt okänd i Hollywood heller är Mark Millar, författaren bakom verk såsom Wanted, Kick-Ass och Superman: Red Son. Wanted gjordes till film och kom förra året, men var ingen större succé, och Kick-Ass kan vi vänta oss någon gång nästa år förhoppningsvis på svenska biografer. Nu har Millar avslöjat att han själv ska regissera en film, vad för film det handlar om är oklart. Det man vet är att det handlar om superhjältar, men titel eller vad det baseras på är okänt, det man vet är att han vill göra den på samma vis som Matthew Vaughn gjorde Kick-Ass: utanför studiosystemet med pengar från annat håll.






Här är vad Millar hade att säga på sin hemsida:

"But this is one of several big surprises planned for next year and you’ll hear a bit more about this in February when we start to release details. What is it? Who is it about? Well, that’s all a secret for now, but I learned a lot from Kick-Ass and love having the same creative freedom I have with comics when I work in cinema. I never want to be a studio bitch and go in there pitching for them to love me. The closest I came to this was a couple of calls regarding Superman, but pretty much none of my plans ever revealed as I didn’t like the idea of anyone nicking them.


Similarly, I don’t like the idea of asking for funding and justifying scenes with the money-men so I’m doing what Matthew Vaughn did with Kick-Ass and just making it outside the system with private investors. The financing is all secured and the movie stands or falls on how good I can make it, doing what Matthew did and just selling it once completed.


As you can imagine, I couldn’t be more excited. More as it happens, but this might just beat out War Heroes and American Jesus as my follow-ups to the Wanted and Kick-Ass movies. Have two other pictures about to go into development (and Wanted and Kick-Ass 2, of course), but I think you need to scare the Hell out of yourself every once in a while and something totally new like directing should do the trick."


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0